My new online series: The Stella Diaries (entire piece)

Stella is a fictional character whose adventures have entertained me ever since I was 12.

Back then, the morning drive to school was long, from 30 to 45 minutes and we owned one horrendous, comically awful car that would literally break down every other day.

As you can guess, I created her with the sole purpose to entertain me, because the same trees, housed and road signs, can only offer only so much entertainment value as your dad chokes down curse words and tries his luck at being a makeshift mechanic.

Stella had to be awesome; her adventures had to be awesomer, so I made her into a super spy/soldier  graduating from Rambo school, and most importantly she had one sweet ride.

I didn’t  stop with Stella’s adventures, when we moved closer to school, not even when I finished school. She is a character I was never able to leave behind with other characters and stories I made up. She took a life of her own and always had more and more adventures.

I guess in a way she was always with me, almost like she grew up with me. Sometimes she would be my fictional character in the story I was sure to write one day; and at other times, I am embarrassed to say, she’d be my slightly older, alter ego who had all the adventures I should have been having.

As I grew up and changed, she matured and changed as well.

I find interesting that when was younger it was clear to me she was on the right side of the spying game, but as I grew up and witnessed life as not being all black and white most of the time, I stopped being sure that Stella’s world was black and white either. She believes she is on the right side, the good side, but is she really? That remains to be seen.

Looking back at my younger self, I remember what it was like being 12 in a country where everything was different and new. I barely spoke the language; I couldn’t read or write it. I didn’t have friends. Reading and making up stories was an escape.

I remember exactly what that piece of junk of a car we had to settle for and can’t but wonder how dumb I must have looked looking out of the window, and probably winning the staring contact with a tree.

stelladiaries.paparoona.com

Leave a Reply

